Michael Bay Apologizes for Armageddon

armageddon-1998-10-g

“Why don’t we just throw the Physics textbook out of the window…”

I have a feeling Michael Bay may have decided to quit cocaine this week as he seems to be going down the familiar “recovering addict” route of making up for past mistakes. Of course I’m just speculating here, but why don’t you try and watch Transformers and tell me that’s not coming from a coke-fueled mind. Today he just opened up to the Miami Herald in which he apologized for 1998 blockbuster Armageddon.

“I will apologize for Armageddon.”  He explained: “We had to do the whole movie in 16 weeks. It was a massive undertaking. That was not fair to the movie. I would redo the entire third act if I could. But the studio literally took the movie away from us. It was terrible. My visual effects supervisor had a nervous breakdown, so I had to be in charge of that. I called James Cameron and asked ‘What do you do when you’re doing all the effects yourself?’ But the movie did fine.” [via Vulture]

The best response I saw in the comments section was regarding another one of his films:

“He owes our nation an apology for Pearl Harbour. I felt sorry for the veterans who were loaded onto an aircraft carrier to watch that turd.” [David88]

Yeah, you heard it. Bay forced a bunch of navy vets to sit through that piece of crap, on an aircraft carrier. Well at least the movie was never in danger of inducing flashbacks any time soon, so there’s always that silver lining.  I’m hoping he starts apologizing for more films, but really I’d like to see some other directors follow his lead and apologize for the mistakes they’ve made…..George Lucas, I’m looking at you!

Leave a Reply

