Ninjas hired to shut up obnoxious movie-goers

I said NO LAUGHING BITCHES!! That’s my Boy is not funny…

A London cinema, called The Prince Charles, has taken the unusual step of relying on a group of ninjas to keep any audience members from misbehaving. Whether that is using a mobile phone, talking too loudly or throwing popcorn – The ninjas will get ‘em. The ninjas are just volunteer movie buffs, wearing skin tight full body suits, like the kind you always see turning up at music festivals. So sounds pretty (mentally)healthy to me. A brave ‘victim’ of one of these ninja assaults, broke his silence and gave us an account of the horror:

“I normally hate noisy people in cinemas, but I got a call from my friend just as the movie started and thought I could get away with taking it. The last thing I expected was two completely blacked-out people suddenly appearing by our seats and give me and my mates a warning to shut up. It was actually pretty terrifying at first, but then I realised it was a bit of a laugh and a great way to make it clear what I was doing was having an impact on those around me. It certainly made me hang up and shut up for the rest of the film.” – Abdul Stagg

I wouldn’t like to see this technique deployed in US cinemas, in states where gun control is relaxed. Last time I checked, ninjas weren’t bulletproof. The ninja usher idea came about, after an entrepreneurial Gregor Lawson, of the popular Morph Suit Company based in Edinburgh, had enough of inconsiderate audience members ruining his movie-watching experience.

“I’m a big fan of going to the cinema, but there’s an unspoken code of conduct when you’re watching a movie that some people just don’t understand. Then when some fans were discussing being ninjas in their Morph suits on our Facebook page I had a eureka moment. I thought I’d find a cinema and see if we could bring a light hearted taskforce to the aid of movie fans.” – Gregor Lawson

To be fair to The Prince Charles, they’re at least trying to confront the issue with an amusing approach, unlike other cinemas that bore you to death with silly ads telling you to switch of your phone. Just don’t be giving any ninjas throwing stars.

[Via /Film]

Leave a Reply

